Headed for the mountains in my PJs

sorhoved

I just had a small errand to run. So I kept my pajamas pants on. I parked my car but my eyes wandered towards the mountains in the southwest before I move my head to the northwest. Three seconds later I left the parking lot.

At 9pm Friday night, about ten minutes later, I drove through Finnvikdalen while the fogFullSizeRender-16 surrounded the car. I only had about 30 meters of visibility. I drove by a parking lot with four cars but kept on driving to the next one. It was empty.

I guess no one would care if I had used my pajamas pants but I took them off since I had some hiking clothes and shoes in the car. Its always a good idea to have some hiking gear in the car at all times because you never know when you will need them.

After a fast walk for about 20 minutes I reached my first goal. I was above the fog. And it only took me ten more minutes to get to the top of Sørtinden. I’ve lived in Tromsø for 13 years, but it was the first time I was on the summit of Sørtinden. The truth is that I had no clue what the top was called before the next day. Thank you google 🙂

sorhoved-2

It was a very short hike since Sørtinden is only 471 meters above sea level. But who cares how long the hike is or how tall the mountain is. To be almost alone on a mountain late at night during the summer in Northern Norway is an amazing experience no matter what.

NB: Always keep your camera and some hiking gear in your car at all time. You never know when you need use it. And most important, be more impulsive.

sor-3

FullSizeRender-8

FullSizeRender-13FullSizeRender-14FullSizeRender-21FullSizeRender-15FullSizeRender-3IMG_9033

sorho-2sorho-3sorho-4sorho-5sorho

FullSizeRender-4

FullSizeRender-9

 

Categories: Norway, Troms | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

